Labor daze

May 1: (1) One of the Philippines’ many non-working holidays, Labor Day, (2) First day showing of Spiderman 3, (3) My blog migration.

Gone will be the days when I would sometimes feel like a fake for not being a real painter. In my previous blog, my opening line went: “If I were a painter, Iā€™d use a palette with the most vibrant colors…”Of course, I was using a metaphor then, of me painting the shades of God’s grace, hence the title. But actually, the only painting I could do is on the faces of people (read:make-up), never on a canvass. [Yet what’s true is that I am overwhelmingly awed by this thing called God’s grace. No matter how many blogs I set up and leave, by God’s grace (there it is again), may He always be the Thread that will run through every fabric of thought, every word, every motivation.]

Tonight, I decided to drop the imaginary paintbrush for good and pursue the simpler goal of occasionally thinking out loud. I am opting for a cleaner design, calmer feel, more immaculate page.

I, the WordPress novice, am still learning the intricacies of this new blog host. So far, I’m liking what I’m seeing. Soon I hope to be able to expand this site to include folders with excerpts from the books of my current reading list, observations about life in general, or even recipes and food tips [my subjective take on the best french fries, chicken barbecue, chocolate cake, anyone?]

Will you care to stick around while I think out loud? I hope you do. And hey, I want to hear your thoughts too.

Comments
9 Responses to “Labor daze”
  1. rina says:

    newest wordpress convert, hehe. you’ll love it šŸ™‚

    That comment, coming from a longtime (?) wordpress user, something tells me you’re gonna be right about that. Salamat, Rina. Will include you in my blogroll. Hope you don’t mind. šŸ™‚

  2. Drifter says:

    oh my goodness…!!!! nope, i have no idea what this blog entry is all about..I am just too happy that i can access it!!!! ( dance of joy ….)…woohoo!!…

    now, let me read your entry…

    Miracle of miracles nga–a blogsite not blocked! šŸ™‚ So when will you do your own migration? Will be happy to help. Isang afternoon lang ito somewhere. šŸ˜‰ There’ll be a theme that’s right for you, I’m sure.

  3. gina c. says:

    hi, beng. i read somewhere that blogspot will not be free next year. free accounts will expire next year. wordpress is easier to access. glad to see you here. happy migration. šŸ™‚

    Hi Mommy G. Hmm, I know you also have a blog lurking somewhere in space. Which reminds me to put it in my blogroll as soon as I get your address. Talaga, di na free next year? Maybe because of the volume of their users. Sa WordPress wala pa yatang 1 million. Nice to be here. I have yet to discover the nice nooks and crannies here. šŸ™‚

  4. Gypsy says:

    What a surprise! I didnt you had a blog migration up your sleeves. šŸ™‚ It took a while for me to get here, I guess its a new street so my pc had to make the unfamiliar trek over to your new home. Hey watch tayo spidey 3 ha, the weekend when i get back? Oks ba? Will text you when I get home. šŸ™‚

    I didn’t really plan on migrating. It was a spur of the moment decision (wow, I’m taking risks now!) one night when I had too much time in my hands and I was too lazy to fix my cabinet. Yup, sige, watch tayo Spiderman 3 when you get back. Sa Galeria, if you want. I know just the perfect place to eat there.

  5. ruben says:

    hi beng, nice new blog! clean, calm, nice pic, nice colors (or lack of), this is a good blog to think out loud in. šŸ™‚

    Thanks, Ben. The architect in you noticed and I am pleased about it. It’s good to know somebody thinks I made the right choice with my new blog. Salamat. šŸ™‚

  6. kars says:

    welcome to wordpress! diba mas enjoy dito. šŸ˜‰

    im waiting for abaniko to change host too. šŸ˜‰

    Let’s wait and see. Pero most likely, I’d really enjoy my stay here.

    Calling Abaniko–any plans of changing your blogsite soon? Abaniko.wordpress.com? No. 1 ka pa din nun. šŸ˜‰

  7. bengalba says:

    To commenter-friends: I reply by inserting my words (in italics) immediately after yours. Please bear with me as I’m still getting used to this new place. šŸ™‚ I will also see you in your sites.

  8. Lazarus says:

    I am gonna update my link to your new site ms beng. very nice yet simple.

    Hi Lazarus. Thanks! I’ve been meaning to add you in my blogroll, now’s the time. šŸ™‚ Hope you don’t mind.

  9. jophen says:

    hello Beng
    welcome to wordpress. meron din ako sa wordpress. hehe makulit ako eh. yung link e kausap.wordpress.com. hopefully madiscipline ako magsulat ng meditations. At ikaw naman, gumaganda ka.

    Hi Ate Jophs! I almost missed this comment. šŸ™‚ Thanks for the welcome and the compliment. šŸ˜‰ Naks. Dalaw ka sa office.

Leave a Reply

