One day at a time

Rarely, if ever I do, make notes on my scheduler. I have a now-ancient Tungsten E PDA, an Ipod touch pushing one-year old, but neither of these two gadgets have any detailed notes on how my days should unfold. Meetings, deadlines, to-dos—I remember most of them (for a Dorian, this feat is nothing short of miraculous!) save for the times when I am insanely busy and need to check with some people to confirm what’s penciled in my mind.

If I am like this with my days, and weeks, can you blame me if I am choosing to live one day at a time? The How-do-you-see-yourself-five-years-from-now type of questions? I go blank on those and choose to be vague if pushed for a response. Because it’s not as if I have a detailed map which will direct me how to get from Point A to Point B until I reach all the way to Point Z.

Yet I do have dreams, simple ones at that, and make no apologies about it. Get found by the right man, marry, work from home, write freelance, polish my culinary skills, prepare kids’ lunchboxes, continue to love and serve God—don’t these words follow the term “simple woman’s dream” as a definition? In my dictionary, maybe.

But now, while scary forecasts of insecurity and fear threaten to paint my sky dark on my way to tomorrow, my heart can still choose to be quiet. If God can shower His children with manna daily, I know without a shadow of doubt that He can sustain me in the same way. The serving of grace and the strength that I need to survive tomorrow? It will come, in the same way I received a generous portion of it today.

I am no feather who is a slave to the whims of the wind. I am just a child choosing to trust in the goodness of her loving and gracious Father . . .

. . . one day at a time.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? (Matthew 6:25-27)

Comments
2 Responses to “One day at a time”
  1. Abaniko says:

    Nice one. I’m speechless. 😀

    Now, how do I respond to that? Simply, thanks. 🙂

  2. Amen. One day at a time — now that’s the way to live. “Many things about tomorrow, I don’t seem to understand; but I know Who holds tomorrow, and I know He holds my hand.”

    Yes, isn’t it such a source of great joy and peace to know He does? 🙂 Note to self: “Remember what you said, Beng. One day at a time.” Thanks, Aleks.

Leave a Reply

