Reading my way to health

A portion of my free day yesterd25785462ay was spent in a bookstore. This time, not ours but in SM Megamall, at the first ever branch of Powerbooks. I decided to while away the time there waiting for my college org mates for an impromptu reunion that was planned and finalized just hours before. Of the thousands of titles available, I picked up a book from the Health section entitled Medical Myths That Can Kill You: And the 101 Truths That Will Save, Extend, and Improve Your Life by Nancy Synderman MD. An interesting read, here are some of the new things I’ve learned (and my own thoughts) while perusing the hardbound book:

 

Walking 10,000 steps a day can save your life

But what if while walking you fall into a manhole? Well, if and when that happens, it’s not the walking what will actually kill you. It’s the not-being-alert part (to put it mildly). Walking, if I’m wearing comfy shoes, is a welcome activity for me.

Dessert can be dinner

Yes, a dish of rocky road ice cream can be dinner. But the only thing is you can’t do it every day. This translates to you can have double dutch flavor the next day, and strawberry the day after the next. (You know I’m kidding, right? Here’s the deal: You can have chocolate cake the next.)

Cotton swabs are for cleaning belly buttons, not ears

 The author compared our ears to oven, the self-cleaning kind. Apparently, there’s a risk of doing damage when you poke through your ears with these cotton swabs. What’s the alternative? Wear headphones 24/7. This way, no dirt will ever get inside your ears. The only downside is sooner or later, you might lose your hearing and you’d have to go through the rest of your life as if you were starring in a silent movie. (The second part of this paragraph is completely made up. Look it up in the book for the real alternative. 🙂 )

Eating chocolate does not cause acne

Thank you for the good words for my favorite food group, chocolate. She specified eating the dark kind, with at least 70% cocoa. A blogger friend, in two occasions (when he came from Japan, and more recently, Europe) gave me bars of dark chocolates. The first one, a Lindt, was more bitter with 90% cocoa. The second one, with 70%, was just right. Another friend who also came from Japan gave me bite-sized chocolates laced with strawberry flavor. Right now, my glass jar in the office is empty and is waiting for donations. 😉 Kidding aside, I know (or at least I think) I can survive without chocolates. For how long, I have yet to find out. (My conscience says: “But why do you have to give it up?” Me: “I’m just testing my will-power. Maybe I’ll get two marshmallows tomorrow if I can give up one marshmallow today.”)

Stress does not cause ulcers

I’ve never experienced symptoms of ulcers but am an expert in stress so I guess the previous statement is true. Ulcers are actually caused by bacteria, not late-night cramming to beat a deadline. So as to your stress-inducing co–workers? No, they have nothing to do with the burning pain in your stomach.

You don’t need to drink eight glasses of water a day

This water-drinking advice has been going around for ages that it’s actually surprising that it gets debunked in this book. You get your water from other sources like the food you eat (especially fruits), as well as other beverages like coffee and juices.

Cellphones do not cause cancer

Smart, Globe and Sun, and cellphone-makers can breathe a sigh of relief. But then one risk you are not free of while using cellphones is that of developing carpal tunnel syndrome due to hard-to-press keys and constant texting.

Colon cleansing is unnecessary and can be dangerous

The medical doctor who wrote this book advised us to just let Mother Nature do its job. All we need to do is stay hydrated, eat fiber and we’re good to go. No, even before I’ve read this book, colon-cleansing never made it to my list of things to do before I die.

Boring jobs can kill you

Not a threat to me because I have not, in a million years, thought of my job as boring. Admittedly, there are days when I dream of getting a job as a taste-tester in a chocolate factory but I’ve never prayed for that dream to be realized. My corner spot in the fourth floor of our building is just perfect. 🙂

After reading my way to health, the next step is actually taking these pieces of advice. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll check if there’s some ice cream left in the freezer. I can’t miss dinner, you know*.

*Borrowed from Manny Pacquiao

Comments
7 Responses to “Reading my way to health”
  1. verns says:

    Yeah…chocolates do not cause acne. I had some breakout months ago and when I went to see a doctor here the first thing she told me was “you shouldn’t eat chocolates’. I know it was not a good advise but I reckon it will be impolite to correct her hehehe

  2. Beng says:

    Hehehe, you’ve displayed remarkable restraint in not correcting her. 🙂 Kudos to you, Verns. Iwagayway ang bandila ng Pilipinas. How are the breakouts?

  3. Bijoiski says:

    “Boring jobs can kill you.” — hahahaha. what about stressful jobs? the same lang ba ang epek? Interesting book ate. 😉

    Well, it can kill you if your job is a tightrope walker and you fell because of stress. haha. 🙂 Yes, it is. Health books are interesting to me. It eases my guilt and makes me feel like I went for a checkup.

  4. carlotta says:

    water? i think yan yung nakatulong sa pagtugis sa pimples ko a few years back ah. it’s my fave drink 😀

    about chocolates not causing acne… i’m glad i can now eat king-sized chocolate bars once more hahaha!

    hava nice day beng! 🙂

    Water is always good. Beats any sports drinks around.

    King-sized choco bars? Wow, inggit ako. I can’t remember when was the last time I finished one whole bar.

  5. Gypsy says:

    “If you eat lechon, make sure to wash it down with diet coke to cancel out the cholesterol.” Heee.

    I should try that once. Care to join me? hahahaha 🙂

  6. jen says:

    Pwede bang isama dito yung i-brush ang hair 100 times every night? 😀

  7. Beng says:

    Hi Jen! Under what list do you want it to appear? Under the list of myths that should be debunked? 🙂

Leave a Reply

