Me in the middle of a mess

It’s time for a little pruning. No green thumb for me, actually. This pruning is the kind that does not necessitate me wearing rubber gloves in the garden. As I write these words, I am in a middle of a mess. If by some stroke of (bad) luck, Santa arrives at our doorstep and asks to see my room (to check if I’ve been a nice girl and keeping it clean), he’d have to hear this from me: “Don’t bother, Santa. Go to the next name in your list. Now is NOT a good time. (Pause). Oh, you just want to use the restroom?”

I am clad in my most comfortable shirt and shorts, and strewn across my bed are bags, clothes and other knick-knacks that will soon meet their final fate: to keep, to give away or to throw? Since yesterday, I’ve said adieu to many things. Among them, two discmans (or should I refer to them as discmen?) While taking them out of the case, I remembered when one of them provided me entertainment and company on the flight back home from the US several years back. I have very good memories of you, Sony. Thanks.

I do not have a problem letting go, especially of things.  I realize that what we have right now are just on loan to us from God, the Giver of all things. I cannot bring my iTouch, my netbook, my laptop, my cellphone, my clothes, my make-up kit,  and all of my earthly possessions, with me to heaven. At the end of my life, nobody will have to eulogize my ownership of cool gadgets. Besides, who cares that I enjoy using  a really neat white Phillips handmixer with two kinds of attachments?

I might have paused for a while to pin these thoughts down but make no mistake about it: I am pruning like crazy. I’m doing it with the passion of a woman off to take advantage of a big clearance sale at Macy’s (Something’s quite not right with that metaphor but I’m going to let that stay).

Saying goodbye feels good sometimes, especially when after saying it, life will feel much lighter and simpler. I might have less things to call mine but who says that’s bad? Maybe less of what I once had is all I really need.

Comments
6 Responses to “Me in the middle of a mess”
  1. Abaniko says:

    Hey, just in case, I’m just here patiently waiting to receive your netbook. 🙂

    • Beng says:

      AKP, Alan. That’s the acronym for Asa Ka Pa. :p Just buy your own. You can buy 6, if you like, but no more huge flatscreen TV. 🙂 But hey, I can rent my netbook to you. Per hour. Haha. Kidding!

  2. carlotta says:

    can you give me some of that pruning-room energy especially that i-don’t-have-a-problem-letting-go-of-things thingie? haha. 🙂

    • Beng says:

      You can read about the parable in the Bible ertaining to a man who was building bigger and bigger barns, only to be told that what he didn’t know was that his life will soon be taken away from him. And then what will happen what he accumulated? Nothing. And he missed out on THE most important thing. 🙂

      On the lighter said, give yourself a reward after you’ve pruned your room of unnecessary stuff. Maybe it i will work. 🙂

  3. carlotta says:

    thanks beng, i’ll keep all of those in mind. 😀 a blessed and merry christmas to you and your family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

