Walking on stilts

Just recently I read about a popular televangelist who fell from grace. A picture of him holding hands with a woman who was famous in her own right was snapped. The problem is (you know where this is going), she wasn’t his wife.

No big deal, you might say. But then we know how the world is a harsher critic when a Christian is on stage. A photograph of two unmarried adults holding hands can send the same shockwaves as if it was a snapshot of them naked in bed.

Last I read, the man owes his publisher money for violating their morality agreement. (I do not plan on rambling why this couple shouldn’t have done what they did. They’ve received enough castigation already and I am not about to flog them forty more times.)

The first thing I remembered doing when I came across this article was to cringe. Oh no. Not another ammunition for the world to shoot us with. Many other stories came before his. The disgraced preacher who was apprehended while enjoying the services of a prostitute in a parked car. The country singer who left his wife and embraced the homosexual lifestyle. How many stories of famous Christians do we know whose catastrophic descent into shame made us blush?

I can breathe a sigh of relief. I am not a high-profile figure whose one wrong move can potentially land me on the front page of a newspaper. This writer is just an ordinary Christian who struggles to make it day after day to walk the straight and narrow way.

But sometimes while walking I feel like I’m on stilts on a cobblestone pathway. Life.gets.hard. There are days when I don’t clearly deserve a medal for being a good person. I procrastinate in answering another’s letter. I hold off facing a particular task I don’t feel ready doing. I get frustrated and simmer inside even if it doesn’t outwardly show. I ignore God deliberately when I feel He is being unfair. And pride. Should I really get started on pride? Just like Eustace Scrubb who had to endure the peeling of his dragon skin, bit by bit, by Aslan, I go through the same too. It hurts when God confronts me regarding my own pride. Ten times out of ten I have no excuse.

If I could only tack post-its wherever I look with the written words, “It’s all about Him,” I would. But I can’t. What I can do,instead, is to revel in the wonderful, beautiful truth that God still changes people inside out. That it’s not the end until we see the closing credits. That for every person we encounter who prompts us to mutter under our breath, “What an obnoxious human being!,” God looks at the same person and says, “If only you realize how much I love you.”

Everybody needs a reason to believe that having a bad day today does not disqualify them from having a good tomorrow. Every one will fail, one way or the other. Therefore, we all need to believe that something, no, Someone bigger than tiny us is under control. We can trust Him. Others call it exercising faith. For me, it’s like God offering to rid me of my stilts while He walks with me all the way through. I can take His hand.

Comments
2 Responses to “Walking on stilts”
  1. “This writer is just an ordinary Christian who struggles to make it day after day to walk the straight and narrow way.” — Amen!♡ I simply love your boldness. 🙂 God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

